ECR – Experimental Concert Research

Studies on the Concert Experience

How might the classical concert look like in the future?

We are in the midst of a classical concert crisis – at least this is what the media and visitor studies suggest. The growing average age of audiences and a perceived absence of younger listeners are often used to substantiate this claim. Concert halls and opera houses, which are funded by society, have come under immense pressure: the collective listening to a performance of classical and contemporary music appears to be losing its attractiveness. Concert organizers have responded with a variety of measures, with education projects and audience development, and even attempts to ‘reinvent’ the classical concert by developing new concert formats.

Our Research

At the same time, almost no empirical research on concert experience, education projects or alternative concert formats is available. There is a lack of knowledge about what constitutes a concert and what its underlying mechanisms are. We do not know what may be achieved by novel concert variants.

The classical concert is a highly sophisticated format of performance and reception. Which parameters of its highly ritualized sequence of events are topical, which others are irrelevant or even obstructive to experiencing and immersion? We wish to explore the potentials of music experience in this setting, and ultimately find out what constitutes the concert experience in a classical music concert.

Our Plan

In summer 2020, we will organize a series of public concerts with identical programming in both the Radialsystem V and the Konzerthaus Berlin. In each performance, one aspect of the concert format will be altered. We will investigate the audience members’ experiences of the music in the respective concert setting by monitoring their physiological and nonverbal responses and through the use of questionnaires. As a result, we expect to gain insights regarding several open questions: Which setting can optimize listening? When do people feel connected to the other audience members? When is the musical experience specifically intense and uplifting? Which parameters of a concert situation alter the aesthetic experience of audience members or musicians?

As results of this research we will gain novel and experimental insights into the embodiment of listeners’ music experience in the here-and-now of the live concert. We also expect findings concerning the kinds of social resonance and synchronization in the social environment of the concert hall.

ECR – Experimental Concert Research

Untersuchungen zum Konzerterlebnis

Wie könnte das klassische Konzert der Zukunft aussehen?

Das klassische Konzert ist in der Krise – so suggerieren es zumindest seit geraumer Zeit die Besucherforschung und die Feuilletons. Als Beleg dafür wird v.a. das steigende Durchschnittsalter des Publikums angeführt und das Wegbleiben jüngerer Hörerschichten. Öffentlich finanzierte Konzerthäuser und Orchester stehen dadurch unter großem Druck. Das gemeinschaftliche Anhören einer Aufführung von Kunstmusik scheint immer weniger attraktiv zu sein. Konzertveranstalter reagieren auf dieses Krisenszenario seit einer ganzen Weile mit verschiedenen Maßnahmen: Projekte zur Musikvermittlung setzen beim Publikum an, neue Konzertformate suchen das Konzert selbst zu reformieren.

Was wir erforschen wollen

Empirische Forschung zu Konzerterfahrungen, den Auswirkungen von Musikvermittlungsprojekten und alternativen Konzertformaten gibt es bisher kaum. Es gibt keinen Konsens darüber, was ein Konzert ist und welche Mechanismen hier zum Tragen kommen, und wir wissen nicht, was alternative Konzertformate erreichen können.

Das klassische Konzert ist ein hochentwickeltes Format von Performance und Rezeption. Welche Parameter dieses hoch ritualisierten Ablaufs aber sind zentral für das Konzerterleben und die Immersion, welche sind irrelevant und welche vielleicht sogar hinderlich? Wir wollen also experimentell erforschen, welche Erlebenspotenziale das Konzert als eine spezifische Darbietungs- und Rezeptionsform für bestimmte Musik erschließt. Die Leitfrage unseres Forschungsprojekts lautet: Was macht das Konzerterlebnis in einem Konzert mit klassischer Musik heute aus?

Wie wir forschen wollen

Dazu werden wir im August 2020 eine Serie von sieben Konzerten im Radialsystem mit immer demselben Programm durchführen. Von Abend zu Abend wird dann jeweils ein Aspekt des Konzertformats verändert. Durch Befragungen, die Messung von körperlichen Reaktionen und Verhaltensbeobachtung wollen wir dann herausfinden, wie das jeweilige Publikum die Musik in diesem spezifischen Konzert erlebt hat. Im Ergebnis erhoffen wir uns konkrete Auskunft darüber, welche Änderungen im Konzertformat welche Erlebensweisen ermöglichen: Wann können wir aufmerksamer zuhören? Wann fühlen wir uns mit den anderen Konzertbesuchern verbunden? Wann ist unser Musik-Erleben besonders intensiv und beglückend? Welche Parameter der Konzertsituation verändern die ästhetische Erfahrung von Publikumsmitgliedern oder MusikerInnen?